Threat Signal – “Disconnect”

threatsignaldisconnectcdAnother band that’s back in action after being quiet for a number of years is Ontario’s Threat Signal. To be fair, the band has weathered many challenges since they released their self titled third album in 2011. They faced everything from label problems to lineup changes and even the death of a former member of the band, but never gave up! The end result of all of this is their new album “Disconnect.”

The bottom line for me is always how good are the songs? The band kept writing and writing until they had what they felt were the best possible songs they could. It definitely shows. “Disconnect” has a lot of great songs, which range from heavy to melodic to epic! It’s complex in the best possible way. The album starts with “Elimination Process” with it’s mellow intro before punching you in the face. It has a great groove, awesome technicality and is a good representation of what comes after.

My favorite tracks are the epic ones of course. “Aura” is the proggiest moment on the album and even has malevolent synths as a backdrop. “Terminal Madness” is the 11 plus minute closer that is not just epic but as heavy as anything on “Disconnect.” But the album isn’t JUST heavy. It’s hook-laden choruses like on “Exit the Matrix” and “To Thine Own Self Be True” that make it more than just a tech death riff orgy. Plus the acoustic driven “Betrayal” shows the depth of Threat Signal and why I think they should be HUGE.

And why aren’t they huge? I have to assume it’s just bad luck. Frontman Jon Howard still has a razor sharp harsh vocal and a powerful, unique clean vocal. The current lineup is probably the tightest the band has ever had. “Disconnect” is Threat Signal’s finest release to date and separates them from other progressive thrash bands who are more worried about the number of notes than playing the right ones. “Disconnect” hits all of those right notes.

Rating: 8.5/10


1. Elimination Process
2. Nostalgia
3. Walking Alone
4. Exit The Matrix
5. Falling Apart
6. Aura
7. Betrayal
8. To Thine Own Self Be True
9. Dimensions
10. Terminal Madness

Label: Agonia Records
Release Date: 10 November 2017

About Rob

I have been a fan of progressive metal and progressive rock for most of my life. My music collection is insanely large. My passion for life is music!
This entry was posted in death metal, extreme metal, math metal, modern metal, progressive metal, tech death metal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s