The Mute Gods – “Atheists and Believers”


Busy would be a good adjective to describe many of the musicians I have discovered in recent years.

One of these musicians is Nick Beggs, whose work I have come to know through his performances with Steven Wilson, and he is the songwriter and the voice of this band.

There are political songs in this collection. There are sentimental and tender songs in this collection. These songs try to sum up the human condition at this moment in time: there are events we can control, events we can try to control and events we cannot control at all.

Some of the highlights of the album for me:

The track One Day is a catchy earworm and a song of self-preservation perhaps, a song of hope for the human race.

The instrumental tune Sonic Boom brings along a different drumming style – oh, it’s Craig Blundell, and this song was written for him by Mr. Beggs. These two are the bass and drum bedrock of the Steven Wilson band and this track proves they work well together.

After some very powerful tracks, there arrives the gentle reflections and memories in the songs Old Man and The House Where Love Once Lived.

Iridium Heart comes along with some space voice vocals and one has to wonder who has a heart less human than the world’s second densest metal.

The instrumental closing track I Think of You is a gentle and contemplative song, moved along by a keyboard melody.

Humanity expresses a range of emotions, and so does this release. There is no sameness to the music in question.

If you are ready to receive some Beggsian Knowledge with accompaniment from some very skilled musicians, I suggest you check out Atheists and Believers

Rating: 9/10

Available now

Nick Beggs: Basses, guitars, Chapman Stick, programming, keyboards and vocals
Roger King: keyboards, programming, guitars, backing vocals, production and mastering
Marco Minnemann: drums, additional guitars

Guests on the album:
Alex Lifeson – assorted stringed instruments
Craig Blundell – drums
Rob Townsend – flute, soprano saxophone, bass clarinet
Lula Beggs – backing vocals

1. Atheists and Believers
2. One Day
3. Knucklehed
4. Envy the Dead
5. Sonic Boom
6. Old Men
7. The House Where Love Once Lived
8. Iridium Heart
9. Twisted World Godless Universe
10. I Think of You

Label: InsideOut Music

About madvinyl

Music Nerd.
This entry was posted in art rock, melodic rock, progressive rock and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s