The Night Flight Orchestra – “Sometimes The World Ain’t Enough”

nightflightsometimesmain“Sometimes The World Ain’t Enough” could almost be the title of an old James Bond movie. In this case, it’s the latest album by The Night Flight Orchestra who know how to make authentic classic rock. Now when I say “classic rock” I am not talking about the thousands of bands that are walking around in bell-bottom jeans trying to sound like Black Sabbath fucking the Who. I am talking about music that legitimately sounds like it’s on an FM station in my bedroom when I was a kid. All the while, still somehow sounding fresh and new.

The key to this album (and all NFO albums) is the songwriting. These are GREAT songs. They are memorable and have awesome melodies and more hooks than a fucking tackle box. The point of reference for NFO is channeling bands like Toto, Deep Purple, Chicago or Styx. Bands that have chops in addition to writing great music. NFO features members of Soilwork, Björn “Speed” Strid and David Andersson along side Arch Enemy bassist Sharlee D’Angelo. Musically, NFO is indeed miles away from those bands.

The album kicks off with “This Time” which reminds me of Uriah Heep meets Deep Purple, while the next track “Turn to Miami” has a definite Toto vibe to it. In fact, Speed’s vocals on many tracks sounds like a combo of Joseph Williams and David Paich of Toto. That prog pop style continues with “Paralyzed” and the title track. “Moments Of Thunder” is a favorite track in that it has that mid tempo groove and even hints of Asia.

“Lovers in the Rain” reminds me a little of ELO, especially the fill-less drums. I love ELO so it works for me. Every song could be a hit in another lifetime. “Can’t Be That Bad” reminds me a lot of a song that I can’t for the life of me think of right now. Maybe that’s the key to all of this. It’s familiar but in a very good way!

The epic “The Last Of The Independent Romantics” is a big overblown number that finishes off the regular CD release perfectly. It’s a mix of Toto and early 90s Genesis while never sounding exactly like either. There’s not a band track to be found on “Sometimes The World Ain’t Enough” really. NFO clearly understand how important the song itself is for this type of music to succeed.

If you are looking for a fun album to rock the fuck out to, “Sometimes The World Ain’t Enough” is the one. This (and the other NFO albums) will be a “go to” album for me when I’m not sure what I want to listen to. It’s one of the highest complements I can pay to an album when you consider just how much music I own!

Rating: 9.5/10

1. This Time
2. Turn To Miami
3. Paralyzed
4. Sometimes The World Ain’t Enough
5. Moments Of Thunder
6. Speedwagon
7. Lovers In The Rain
8. Can’t Be That Bad
9. Pretty Thing Closing In
10. Barcelona
11. Winged And Serpentine
12. The Last Of The Independent Romantics
13. Marjorie (bonus track)
14. Pacific Priestess (Japanese bonus track)

Label: Nuclear Blast

About Rob

I have been a fan of progressive metal and progressive rock for most of my life. My music collection is insanely large. My passion for life is music!
This entry was posted in classic rock, progressive rock and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s