Daydream XI – “The Circus Of The Tattered And Torn”

SR3083-Daydream-XI-TCOTTAT-cover-3000px-1024x1024I had heard OF Brazil’s Daydream XI but hadn’t heard them before doing this review. They are definitely a prog metal band with a hint of power metal usually in the vocals. In some ways, they remind me of bands like DGM, Circus Maximus (older), Anubis Gate, Pyramaze and even Symphony X. “The Circus Of The Tattered And Torn” is a concept album (what isn’t nowadays) and regardless of the concept, the music is very strong throughout.

Unfortunately the album starts with a dialogue track which I hate with a passion. It might be key to the overall concept but it comes off REALLY cheesy. You all probably know just how much I loath anything spoken on an album anyway. The good news is that once “Raise the Curtains” kicks you in the mouth, the album really starts. It makes for a solid intro track. The next track “Trust-Forged Knife” is excellent with vocals that remind me of Mark Basile of DGM, who I love. The key solo is very Rudess-esque.

“Painted Smile” is another favorite of mine with a killer intro on bass. This one was released as a “single” before the album and I think it was an excellent choice. It really is a good representative of the whole album. “Windblown” slows things down with lush piano and strings. It’s a good change of pace, though almost overly dramatic for my taste.

That’s basically how the album goes, a good variety of approaches to keep the listener interested. “Cup of Agony” has a good drive to it with an Eastern tinge, while “Overhauling Wounds” is more middle of the road. “Collector of Souls” is almost a metal blues number which doesn’t work for me but it does show yet another side to the band’s sound. This all leads up to the epic title track, 15 minutes of absolutely killer prog metal. There’s some really apeshit playing on it plus great vocals and melodies.

“The Circus Of The Tattered And Torn” is a well written and VERY well executed album. I guess I can live with skipping the first track! Daydream XI are definitely a force to be reckoned with. This could be or at least SHOULD be the album that gets them onto prog metal fan’s radar!

Rating: 8.5/10

1. Ticket 000011
2. Open The Curtains
3. Trust-Forged Knife
4. Painted Smile
5. Windblown
6. A Cup Of Agony
7. Overhauling Wounds
8. Collector Of Souls
9. Forgettable
10. The Love That Never Was
11. The Circus Of The Tattered And Torn

Label: Laser’s Edge

About Rob

I have been a fan of progressive metal and progressive rock for most of my life. My music collection is insanely large. My passion for life is music!
This entry was posted in progressive metal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s