Second To Sun – “The First Chapter”

Second to SunSecond to Sun are an interesting band. For all intents and purposes, it’s a vehicle for guitarist Vladimir Lehtinen. There is no doubting the technical ability of Lehtinen. “The First Chapter” contains some amazing playing and top notch production. I wouldn’t call this anything revolutionary but I will say it’s a very good listen.

My one issue is that the songs tend to be shorter and the ideas/riffs don’t have enough time or even room to develop. The songs hit you over the head like a sledgehammer and it’s onto the next track. “Narčat” is a good example of this. The riff is heavy, the drums blast away…and it’s over.

So I will keep the review brief as well. “The First Chapter” shows that Second to Sun have tremendous ability, but I think some seasoning is needed.

Rating: 7/10


1. Spirit Of Kusoto
2. Red Snow
3. Me Or Him
4. Land Of The Fearless Birds
5. The Blood Libel
6. Narčat
7. Virgo Mitt
8. Chokk Kapper (Bonus Track)
9. Narčat (Demo Version, Bonus Track)


About Rob

I have been a fan of progressive metal and progressive rock for most of my life. My music collection is insanely large. My passion for life is music!
This entry was posted in avant garde, djent, extreme metal, progressive metal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s