Rhapsody Of Fire – “Into The Legend”

rhapdosyoffirelegendRhapsody of Fire are interesting to me, if nothing else. The band was basically the founders of symphonic power metal when they were known as Rhapsody, subsequently they were forced to change their name to Rhapsody of Fire. Then they split into TWO bands, this one and (Luca Turilli’s) Rhapsody. Why do we need two versions of the band?

You’d assume the split was because Turilli had a different vision for the band, but the bands do basically the same thing still. So much so that the format of each band’s current album, “Prometheus, Symphonia Ignis Divinus” by Rhapsody and this album by Rhapsody of Fire, are the SAME. Short instrumental opener, tracks about the same style and length and then a massive epic closing track.

The main difference between these two bands, in my opinion, is the vocals. I still have no fucking idea how Fabio Lione is the lead vocalist in Rhapsody of Fire and now Angra too! The guy always sounds like he is forcing every single note. His voice has a vibrato that just adds to him sounding like he is struggling. I hate his tone as well. None of which has changed on “Into the Legend.” Even a choir can’t cover for Lione.

On the flipside, Rhapsody vocalist Alessandro Conti has a GREAT voice. His range and tone are far supp I do think much of the music on “Into the Legend” is less about playing as fast as possible, which seems to be Turilli’s preference. So the solution is probably that they should merge and shitcan Lione. But since that isn’t happening, we have two versions of the band.

Fans of these bands will probably enjoy “Into the Legend” because it’s the same formula that has worked well for either or both bands over the years. For me, as soon as Fabio Lione opens his mouth, I am over it. I still don’t get how he got the Angra job! Rafael Bittencourt is a better singer than him. Anyway, I digress. Rhapsody of Fire have released a solid album musically only to have it torpedoed by the Charlie Dominici of power metal.

Rating: 3.5/10 (7/10 for Luca Turilli’s Rhapsody if you are curious)

1. In Principio
2. Distant Sky
3. Into The Legend
4. Winter’s Rain
5. A Voice In The Cold Wind
6. Valley Of Shadows
7. Shining Star
8. Realms Of Light
9. Rage Of Darkness
10. The Kiss Of Life

Label: AFM Records

About Rob

I have been a fan of progressive metal and progressive rock for most of my life. My music collection is insanely large. My passion for life is music...progressive music!
This entry was posted in power metal, symphonic metal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s